Events > Doctoral Events ... > Doctoral Symposium / JHD Doctoral Tutorial

Doctoral Symposium

In 2012, as initiated by President Roger Strange and in conjunction with the EIBA Annual Conference held at the University of Sussex in Brighton, UK, the European International Business Academy (EIBA) together with the support of the European Institute for Advanced Studies in Management (EIASM) launched the first EIBA / EIASM Doctoral Symposium in International Business (EIBA-DS). This doctoral event, designed for PhD students in the early stages of their thesis, continues to be offered annually, and acts as an added incentive to increasing the number of student participants at the EIBA Annual Conference. The inaugural EIBA Doctoral Symposium was organised and co-chaired by Jeremy Clegg (University of Leeds) along with Ödül Bozkurt (University of Sussex). As of 2013, Elizabeth (Yi) Wang (University of Leeds) worked together with Jeremy Clegg to co-chair the EIBA-DS. In 2016, Igor Kalinic (University of Leeds) joined the team.

The main objective of the EIBA Doctoral Symposium in International Business (EIBA-DS) is to provide an opportunity for young doctoral students in the field of International Business to discuss their research plans and works-in-progress with a distinguished international faculty as well as with their fellow students. A secondary purpose is to acquaint them with an international network of people, all linked to the field of International Business.

Students whose papers are not selected or are not quite ready for the more forrmal and rigourous Doctoral Tutorial are encouraged to nonetheless submit their research (by the deadline date communicated for the annual EIBA doctoral events, and according to the relevant guidelines) to be considered for acceptance to the Doctoral Symposium – typically scheduled to take place prior to the start of the EIBA Annual Conference. The Symposium consists of several parallel 1½-2 hour sessions, monitored by a panel of 2-3 faculty. Up to three students are allocated to each session and are each asked to give a short presentation of their research work, after which they receive feedback from the faculty. (Note that there is no winner or money prize linked with the EIBA Doctoral Symposium.)

Participating students are expected to register for and attend the EIBA Annual Conference. (The EIBA-DS is a closed, complimentary pre-conference event for registered PhD student participants who have previously applied for and been accepted to present at the EIBA Doctoral Symposium.)

NOTE: Submissions not accepted for the Doctoral Tutorial may be considered for the Doctoral Symposium. However, note that there is no guarantee of acceptance (implied or otherwise) for any EIBA doctoral event – the final decisions rest solely with the respective event organisers.

More information on the 5th EIBA Doctoral Symposium held at EIBA 2016 in Vienna, Austria, on Friday, December 2, 2016:

The EIBA Doctoral Symosium is organised together with the administrative support of the EIASM via the EIBA Secretariat, and, for on-site logistics, in close collaboration with the EIBA Annual Conference organisers. Those responsible for the organisation of the 2016 EIBA Doctoral Symposium:

  • Co-chairs of the 5th EIBA Doctoral Symposium
    Jeremy Clegg (University of Leeds), Elizabeth (Yi) Wang (University of Leeds) & Igor Kalinic (University of Leeds)

  • EIBA 2016 Conference Chair / EIBA President
    Jonas Puck (WU Vienna University of Economics and Business)

  • EIBA Secretariat (EIASM)
    Marion Hebbelynck (Administrative Coordinator) & Ene Kannel (EIBA Executive Secretary)