Awards > EIBA Distinguished Honorary Fellowship / Danny Van Den Bulcke Best Paper Prize / EIBA Best Doctoral Thesis Proposal in IB Award / Copenhagen Business School Prize / Gunnar Hedlund Award / IBR Best Journal Paper of the Year Award / GSJ Global Strategy Research Prize / IMR International Marketing Prize / IJoEM Emerging Markets Prize / JIBE IT & IO in IB Prize / Lazaridis Institute Prize / EIBA Best Reviewer Prize / EIBA Fellows Research Award / EIBA Lifetime Achievement Award

EIBA Distinguished Honorary Fellowship Award

As of 2005, the EIBA Fellows have periodically bestowed a Distinguished Honorary Fellow of the Year award to notable figures in the International Business world. The selected recipients have distinguished themselves in one or more of the four functions or categories listed below:

  • Deans of schools (or those in other similar posts) who have made a substantial contribution to the development of International Business studies
  • Business leaders
  • Distinguished scholars who have by their writing and work considerably influenced the thinking of IB researchers and practitioners in the field
  • Leading figures (or those formerly having played notable roles) in international public and non-governmental organisations

The ideal candidate for this presitigious EIBA fellowship award is someone who has worked on European or related business issues, but who is not necessarily an EIBA member or resident of the country in which EIBA is holding its Annual Conference.

The recipient of an EIBA Distinguished Honorary Fellowship must be present during the awards ceremony at the EIBA Annual Conference gala dinner and be prepared to give a short speech. The Dean of the EIBA Fellows (or another EIBA Fellows representative) presents the selected Honorary Fellow with a small token of acknowledgement of distinction and/or a ceremonial plaque.

EIBA Distinguished Honorary Fellowships have been awarded to:

2017 – Reinhilde VEUGELERS – Full Professor, KU Leuven, Department of Management, Strategy and Innovation | Senior Fellow,
                                                         European think-tank Bruegel | European Commission & European Research Council (Belgium)
2016 – Matti ALAHUHTA – Former President & CEO, KONE Corporation | Former member, Nokia Executive Board (Finland)
2015 – José RUBENS DE LA ROSA – President, Business Committee of the BRICS Policy Center | Former CEO, Marcopolo S.A. (Brazil)
2012 – Martin WOLF – Associate Editor / Chief Economics Commentator, Financial Times (UK)
2011 – Wilfried VANHONACKER – Dean, Skolkovo Management School (Russia)
2008 – Eli HURVITZ – Chief Executive Officer, TEVA Company (Israel)
2007 – DeAnne JULIUS – Chairman, Chatham House (UK)
2006 – Karl SAUVANT – Director, UNCTAD Investment Division (Switzerland)
2005 – Jorma OLLILA – Chairman & CEO, Nokia (Finland)